Contact Us


Talbot County

Talbot County became Georgia's 73rd county by Act on December 14, 1827, from Muscogee County. Originally it included part of Taylor County. It was named for Matthew Talbot (1767-1827), a member of the legislature and a member of the Convention that framed the Constitution of Georgia. He was president of the United States Senate and Governor in 1819 after the death of Governor Rabun until the election of Governor Clark.


First officers of Talbot County, commissioned February 9, 1828, were Abraham Laurence, Sheriff; Samuel C. Leach, Clerk of Superior Court; William S. Goss, Clerk of Inferior Court; Benjamin Loyd, Surveyor; Hubbard Brown, Coroner.


Today Talbot County consists of the towns of Geneva, Junction City, Woodland, and the county seat Talbotton.

River Valley Regional Center

 Talbot County Courthouse


Talbot County Website


Talbot County Chamber of Commerce 


Talbot Demographic Profile

Comprehensive Plan

Talbot County Comprehensive Plan 2015-2035

Geneva City Comprehensive Plan 2015-2035

Junctinon City Comprehensive Plan 2015-2035

Talbotton City Comprehensive Plan 2015-2035

Woodland City Comprehensive Plan 2015-2035


Developments of Regional Impact

Lafarge Talbotton Aggregates DRI #2180

Oconee Concrete Company DRI #2018

Robinson Paving Plant DRI #2004

MVulcan Junction City Quarry DRI #1772

Martin Marietta Materials-Quarry Expansion DRI #840

Deprecated: Non-static method modGTranslateHelper::getParams() should not be called statically in /home/riverva9/public_html/modules/mod_gtranslate/mod_gtranslate.php on line 13
English Spanish

Active Valley

Workforce Innovation

Website by Majestic Pages
© 2014 River Valley Regional Commission